Some Juno awards nominees already have trophies to show off after many were given out at a private gala Saturday night.

Thirty-three winners were announced at the Ottawa Convention Centre, including three local artists.

MonkeyJunk took the Best Blues Album category with To Behold, Stretch Orchestra's self-titled album won Best Instrumental Album and Bruce Cockburn's Small Source of Comfort was named Roots & Traditional Album of the Year: Solo.

Sania Johnson won Vocal Jazz Album of the Year and said there are three characteristics to a successful artist.

"Loving what you're doing, perseverance and being a little crazy like I am," she said.

Montreal's Simple Plan were given the Allan Waters Humanitarian Award for their donations to youth-focused charities.

"I just hope the stuff we are doing will actually inspire others to do the same in their own little way," they said. "I think there are always ways to pay it forward."

Broadcaster Gary Slaight accepted the Walt Grealis Special Achievement Award during the gala, which wasn't open to the public.

Presenter Annie Clark said the chance to be at the gala had her feeling patriotic.

"It's just so nice to have these awards ceremonies to celebrate Canadian music or Canadian entertainment," said the Degrassii actress. "I'm honoured to be chosen to present."

Other winners include Feist and The Sheepdogs with two wins each, Arkells for Group of the Year and Drake for Rap Recording of the Year.

The remaining seven awards will be given out during the show at Scotiabank Place on Sunday, airing at 8 p.m. on CTV.

With a report from CTV Ottawa's Stefanie Masotti