HALIFAX - Philip Scrubb has earned Canadian university basketball's most outstanding player honours after leading the Carleton Ravens' men's team to its second consecutive undefeated season.

The second-year guard from Richmond, B.C., is the fifth Raven in seven years to claim the Mike Moser Memorial Trophy.

The 19-year-old Scrubb won top rookie honours last year, becoming the first player in history to claim the Dr. Peter Mullins Trophy and Moser Trophy in back-to-back seasons.

Meanwhile, Ravens head coach Dave Smart won the Stuart W. Aberdeen Memorial Trophy as coach of the year for a record-breaking fifth time at the All-Canadian Gala on Thursday night.

Lakehead guard Greg Carter of Ottawa won the defensive player of the year award, McMaster guard Adam Presutti of Oakville, Ont., took home the Dr. Mullins Trophy as the top rookie and Guelph forward Daniel McCarthy claimed the Ken Shields Award recognizing excellence in basketball, academics and community involvement.

The 50th CIS championship run Friday through Sunday at the Metro Centre in Halifax.

Scrubb, a six-foot-three guard, led the team in scoring with 16.2 points per game. His 57.0 per cent shooting from three-point range was the best in the country.

"Phil has taken his game to another level this season," said Smart. "He has done whatever he has needed to do to win. His defence gets overlooked because he is so dominant on the offensive end, but he may be our best defender as well."

The other finalists were Cape Breton guard Jimmy Dorsey, Concordia forward Evens Laroche and Saskatchewan guard Jamelle Barrett.

Carter became the first Lakehead player to win the defensive player award since its inception in 2005.

The five-foot-10 point guard anchored a defensive unit that helped the T-Wolves to first in the OUA West standings with a 20-2 conference record.

"Many players have the ability to change a game with a big defensive play but few, if any in recent memory, have the amount of impact on an opponent's offensive game plan that Greg has on a weekly basis," said T-Wolves head coach Scott Morrison.

Owen Klassen of Acadia, Eric Cote-Kougnima of UQAM and Michael Lieffers of Saskatchewan were also in the running for defensive honours.

Presutti is the first McMaster player to receive rookie of the year honours.

The 19-year-old point guard led the Marauders to second in the OUA West standings with a 17-5 record.

Saint Mary's guard Brian Rouse, Laval post Boris Hadzimuratovic and Brandon guard Ilarion Bonhomme were the other nominees.