The first group of Order of Ottawa recipients includes a former mayor, the recently-retired president of Algonquin College and an international organ donation advocate.

The City of Ottawa will indict 15 people into the order on Nov. 22, including Jim Durrell, Robert Gillett and Helene Campbell.

The awards were created earlier this year “as a way to recognize exceptional residents who have made a significant contribution in a professional capacity in many areas of city life,” according to a news release.

Its other recipients are:

  • Moe Atallah, restaurateur and philanthropist.
  • Dr. John Bell, Ottawa Hospital cancer researcher.
  • Paul Benoit, retiring president/CEO of the Ottawa Macdonald-Cartier International Airport Authority.
  • Allison Fisher, executive director of the Wabano Centre for Aboriginal health.
  • Marc Jolicoeur, second-longest serving Chairman in the University of Ottawa’s history.
  • Terry Kelly, engineer and volunteer firefighter.
  • Russell Mills, chair of the NCC.
  • Diane Morrison, retiring executive director of the Ottawa Mission.
  • Nazira Naz Tareen, founder of the Ottawa Muslim Women’s Organization.
  • Gisele Richer, Francophone rights advocate.
  • Christine Tremblay, founder and executive director of the AOE Arts Council.
  • Sara Vered, philanthropist.

The city is also giving baseball coach (and Ottawa Citizen reporter) Don Campbell the Brian Kilrea amateur coaching award.