There were some upsets throughout the Ottawa Valley in Monday night’s election, in the races for mayor.

In Pembroke, two term mayor Ed Jacyno has been ousted by Mike LeMay. Lemay had 2,144 votes, while Jacyno finished with 1,380 votes.

Voters in Cornwall also opted for change. Leslie O'shaughnessy is the new mayor, with big win over incumbent Bob Kilger, taking 6,277 votes, over 5,396 votes for Kilger.

A surprise as well in Carleton Place, where newcomer Louis Antonakos knocked off incumbent mayor Wendy LeBlanc.

In Belleville, it was a close race all night, but Councillor Taso Christopher has been elected as the new mayor, winning with less than 200 votes over fellow councillor Pat Culhane.

In Kingston, Bryan Paterson is the new mayor with a convincing win over five other candidates. Paterson finished with 9,191 votes. His closest contender was Dorothy Hector with 6,082 votes.

There was a referendum question on the ballot in Kingston, asking voters if they wanted a casino in the city of Kingston.

Nearly 70 percent voted against a casino.

In Quinte West, Jim Harrison is the new mayor, winning by a wide margin over Terry Cassidy.

In Brockville, David Henderson is returned to the mayor’s chair.

In Renfrew, Don Eady was elected mayor by more than 300 votes.

In Smiths Falls, the new mayor is Shawn James Pankow, wining with a significant margin over Ken Graham. Pankow won with 1,619 votes, over Graham’s 1,078 votes.

And a number of mayors were acclaimed: David Reid continues as mayor in Arnprior; John Fenik acclaimed in Perth; Eric Duncan acclaimed as Mayor of North Dundas; and, Robert Sweet back in the mayor's chair in Petawawa.